Sometimes students have questions about our tours and need answers to them before they can decide whether to sign up to travel with us.
You will be housed in hotels with 3 other same gender students in a room with 2 queen size beds.
Yes.A  Hotels make us adhere to their regulations that requires us to enforce a curfew for student groups, often as early as 10 PM. Yes, using a cell phone or a pre-paid phone card using a public telephone in the hotel lobby. How can I make sure the things I bring on the tour will be safe?a€?You are responsible for all of your personal belongings while on this trip.
There will be an orientation on the day you arrive for the start of your tour that reviews your exact schedule. On our summer tours, you will also receive a tour book at orientation that contains all of the information about the tour that you will need to know, such as meeting and meal times, daily departure schedules, etc. Students are expected to show proper respect for not only each other but the tour staff, other tour guides, bus drivers, and anyone you come in contact with as well. Many hotels charge for telephone use from the rooms, toll free calls, local calls and occasionally even from one room to another. Most students average $200 to $300 on personal expenses.A  Because many businesses no longer accept traveler's checks, we advise students bring some cash and use debit or credit cards where possible. The tour staff will also review daily activities, meeting times, and other important details each day. Our award-winning, festival loving horror short MASSACRE AT FEMUR CREEK is now available for purchase on DVD for a great low price.
The phone in your room is only to be used to call a member of the tour staff for emergency purposes. We do carry a simple first aid kit on the buses for minor emergency care.a€?a€?If you have any kind of medical condition, the staff needs to know it ahead of time.
The tour uses the same rules about touching, holding hands and signs of affections that most schools use. Because much of our entertainment involves water activities and there is a risk of infection if you have a new tattoo or new body piercing, you will be sitting on the bus or in the hotel while others are participating in the fun. But considering it's an homage to 80's slasher movies, we are proud to announce the film will also be getting a release on VHS format, which is the perfect way to commemorate our little film. The amount of each allowance will be based on the number of meals you will have to purchase. There will be times when you are not permitted to listen to music, such as during announcements and during planned activities.A  Be sure that you have some form of identifying marks on personal items. At a date closer to time of departure, students confirmed on the tour will receive a questionnaire that will include requests for specific medical information.a€?a€?Can I visit friends or family that live in a city that we will visit?
The graduation will bring together hundreds of students, parents, professionals and leaders from the state of Ohio and national leaders in education.A Invited dignitaries include Ohio Governor John Kasich, Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman, Columbus Schools Superintendent Dr.
Gene Harris; Westerville Schools Superintendent Dan Good, Southwestern Schools Superintendent Bill Wise, Governors Director of Minority Affairs Lynn Stevens, representatives from the Ohio State University, Ohio University, Columbus State, Denison University, Capital University, Franklin University, Ohio Department of Education, and other county, state and state officials.
Somali community leaders and educators including the first African man to receive a PhD from Princeton University and former Ministers will be honored at the event.A In addition to financial scholarships by the Law Office of Russell Flickinger, Presidential Service Awards will be conferred on members of the Somali-American community in recognition of their contributions to the community. We are incredibly proud of the film and are hoping it will match (if not surpass) the success of its predecessor, the mutiple-award winning ARCHON DEFENDER. The official DVD artwork is below, along with some of the links where you can either rent or purchase the film.
Yamamoto, Ambassador Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of African Affairs Donald Yamamoto's prior assignments included serving as the U.5. It's been a while but we've returned with plenty of activity over the last few months and a big apology to our fans for our tardiness in updating the website since the summer.
This will change in the coming months as we have a few new projects in release and upcoming projects that will surely generate much buzz as we aim to unleash them onto the unsuspecting world. He also served as Deputy Assistant Secretary of State in the Bureau of African Affairs from 2003 to 2006, where he was responsible for coordinating U. Producer Morgan Muscat supplied us with this cool picture of his trek through Cinema 1 at Burlington Mall and the discovery of ARCHON sitting within some pretty good company. Ambassador to the Republic of Djibouti from 2000 to 2003 and was the Deputy Director for East African Affairs from 1998 to 2000.Ambassador Yamamoto entered the Foreign Service in 1980.
The first official trailer from our latest short film, MASSACRE AT FEMUR CREEK, has been unveiled online via writer-director Kyle Hytonen's You Tube channel. We are excited to be collaborating with award-winning filmmaker Kyle Hytonen and his A Henry Krinkle Production company on this fun little short film. Enjoy the picture below of actor John Migloire in character as The Shape and keep checking back for more updates on the film's completion and release date. He attended the National War College in 1996 for senior training and received a Congressional Fellowship in 1991.Ambassador Yamamoto is a graduate of Columbia College and did graduate studies at Columbia University, receiving a Master's degree in International Affairs. Filming has commenced in Hamilton, Ontario and Burlington, Ontario under the direction of Hytonen and starring John Migliore and Heather Dicke. Recently, the film launched a campaign on Indiegogo to raise $1100 and wound up (to date) collecting a surprising $2414.
Check out the teaser poster below and visit the Indiegogo campaign for more info about the film. If you pass the turn-off ramp, you will enter onto the freeway and will have to get off at the next exit and backtrack.
As we continue to develop short and feature films, as well as promote our new demo reel feature, we are hard at work promoting local artists and community events. Such is the case with the upcoming June 8th Car-Free street festival happening on Palladium Way in Alton Village. We are proud to be a part of this amazing community event and are happy to finally unveil our freshly completed new video to help raise awareness of said event. We were approached a few weeks back to create this video by local artists and have done so using footage from last year's event.
Somalia needs to be united or the ongoing problems will simply be exacerbated, said Abdinur Mohamud, a consultant for the Ohio Department of Education.There has to be a solution that brings all those territories together so regions and communities can function at the local level, said Mohamud, a member of the organizing committee.
Enjoy the world exclusive premiere of the promotional video by visiting this link or check it out via our WELCOME page.
We are excited to formally announce thatA Moonlit Road Entertainment has the privilege of being among the many talented artists and vendors at the Ward 6, North Burlington festival. The event will be held on Palladium Way, between Walkera€™s and Appleby Lines, in Alton Village. Please feel free to visit the Ward 6 Car-Free Street Festival page on Facebook for more information about the event.
Global Leadership Coalition.Somalia has been in a state of violence and conflict for over two decades now, Jibril Mohamed, president and chief executive officer of the Northland-based Somali Community Access Network, said last week.
Our tiny horror-film noir short film THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU recently added another festival date to its successful roster, this time for the 2014 edition of the Sudden Impulse Film Festival in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Many attempts were made to bring together the sides that were fighting for power in Somalia. We are excited to promote our award-winning title yet again and hope that people turn out to support great independent films such as this one. The screening happens on Saturday May 10th at the Big Picture Cinema on Gerard Street East at 8:30pm. State Department, was invited to be one of the speakers but will not be able to attend, according to Mohamed. Not only are we focused on inspired filmmaking and photography opportunities, we are how branching out into offering services for Demo Reels. We understand just how important a demo reel is to emerging and talented filmmakers and actors, so we are offering top-notch, professional service along with affordable prices to help showcase what you have to offer the world.
If you are looking to have us create your demo reel or are merely wanting to browse around, we invite you to check out our newly added DEMO REELS page where you can look into our rates and what we can offer you. With ARCHON DEFENDER currently in distribution around the world, distirbution plans ramping up for ORIGIN: A CALL TO MINDS and production underway onA COLD DARK MIRRORA along with a slew of short film projects in development, we trust that 2014 will be our busiest year yet. And we hope for your continued support as we grow and expand into different areas, which will be announced soon.
From all of us at Moonlit Road Entertainment, we welcome 2014 and wish you all a very Happy New Year. Also, Morgan was featured in the 2013 edition of the Burlington community guide, which he also spoke about his humbling beginnings as a student filmmaker and to where he is today.
The article and photo are available only in print, but a photograph has been made available below.
But as we do with any policy we look at the situation on the ground and make determinations on when and whether we need to make adjustments to that policy. It is going to be a painstaking process to move things forward in a positive direction.Malac was invited to give the keynote address last night at the conference, which will conclude today.
Somalis many thousands of whom live in Columbus have an important role to play in determining policy.We understand that having a connection to them is something we need to do to ensure that we have that flow of ideas or an understanding what the impact of what our policies might be, she said, adding that violence is a major concern among Somalis.
They take every opportunity to try to get that message to us to put pressure on us to keep doing something.Mohamed said he was one of two Somalis invited to attend a 2010 forum at the White House, where the president unveiled his administrations strategy in Somalia. The film gets an exclusive digital engagement with Google Play starting tomorrow, October 1, 2013.
Scripps School of Journalism Statehouse News Bureau.A ****************************************************************************************************************************************************Ohio conference discusses Somalia future, problemsJan. Since 2008, the film has been turning heads and it has been nominated and has won several awards for is achievement in special effects and production design.
Congratulations to the directors and cast who combined to make a special type of film that continues to wow audiences. Dates and specifics will be released as soon as they are available.A September 25, 2013 - Hamilton Film Festival selects ARCHON DEFENDER and ORIGINA The city of Hamilton appears to have taken a liking to Moonlit Road Entertainment productions.
Both films will screen as a double bill during the festival, which runs from November 4th to the 10th at the Staircase Theatre (27 Dundurn St. While ARCHON has had a fairly successful festival run over the years leading up to its upcoming DVD release, ORIGIN: A CALL TO MINDS will be making its exclusive world premiere during the festival.


Just yesterday, the film screened at the 2013 Hamilton Music and Film Festival at the Factory Media Centre (227 James Street North in Hamilton). Earlier in the month (on September 13th), the film was selected to screen at the 2013 Supercrawl event held in Hamilton. Issues discussed include the national roadmap, piracy, humanitarian crisis, frontline state military interventions, Diaspora remittance challenges and community development issues. Expect more festival announcements in the next little while.A A August 28, 2013 - Pre-order ARCHON DEFENDER on DVD now at Amazon!!! Engagement in Somalia: DualTrack Policy Aims and Implications * Debunking the Roadmap: A Tool for Statehood or Death-knell for Disintegration? Here is your exclusive first look at a pair of colourful teaser posters for our upcoming animated feature film COLD DARK MIRROR, currently in production under the direction of David Krupicz.The film is expected to continue production throughout 2013 and the early part of 2014, with a release expected for later next year. 2013 - THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU is an Official Selection at HMFF 2013!More great news for our horror film noir hybrid THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU. The award-winning short has become an Official Selection at the 2013 Hamilton Music and Film Festival, taking place in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada on September 22nd. This will mark the third time that the film has screened in Hamilton as part of the film festival circuit, following the 2012 edition of the Hamilton Film Festival as well as earlier this year as part of the Little Nightmares Canadian Horror Shorts Festival. His remarks will provide an overview of Americas role in supporting humanitarian, development, and security assistance in Somalia. We announced earlier this year that ARCHON DEFENDER, our first animated feature film, is scheduled to premiere on DVD and VOD during the fourth quarter of 2013. Today comes word that the film will indeed premiere this fall and in the United States on October 22nd.A Furthermore, we are excited to bring you the exclusive world premiere of the DVD cover art for the film, to be distributed by Ytinifni Films. Morgan was one of eleven people nominated, which ranged from enviromental, community, heritage as well as senior, junior and citizen of the year.
Ambassador James Swan has served as the United States Special Representative for Somalia since August 2011. This marks Morgan's second award win for his contributions to the community as a filmmaker, following his 2010 MARTY Award win for Emerging Media Arts. He has served with the State Department since 1988 in Djibouti, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of Congo, Cameroon, Haiti, and Nicaragua, as well as Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs (2006-2008).
Below is a photograph of the Burlington's Best Award and Certificate presented to Morgan Muscat last week as well as the Burlington Post photograph from the event, printed in Wednesday May 15th's edition.A May 16, 2013 - More THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU and SEVERANCE Movie Reviews!!!The reviews continue to trickle in for Moonlit Road Entertainment productions.
The first is a positively glowing one from Bleeding Dead Film Reviews for THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU, which once again praises the performances of stars Robert Nolan and Sandra da Costa, as well as the production design and direction.
Somalis in America are not only active contributors to their newly adopted communities, but also continue to follow, and more importantly, influence developments in Somalia.
So it was a priority for me to engage in a dialogue and learn from the Somalia diaspora in the first few months of my new assignment as the U.S.
Andrews will be among the guests lined up to heavily promote some top notch Canadian content.
They see heart-breaking news coverage of malnourished Somali children, read about bright young college students murdered by suicide bombers, or hear reports of wide-scale corruption and say that Somalia cannot be helped. The festival takes place between May 31st and June 2nd at the Best Western Hotel (173 - Sunrise Highway, Rockville Centre, NY 11570).
The problems Somalia faces today, the critics say, are the same problems it has faced for twenty years.
Interests in Somalia The answer is simple: Americas national interests require robust engagement with Somalia.
April 19, 2013 - Morgan Muscat featured in Mississauga magazine MISSISSAUGA ARTSThe promotion continues for busy producer-writer Morgan Muscat, who is now featured in the Spring edition of MISSISSAUGA ARTS, a magazine published quarterly that recognizes talents who have contributed to the arts in Mississauga. As a compassionate society, the United States has an interest in addressing the acute humanitarian needs of our fellow human beings in Somalia.
Morgan is featured on Page 4 as part of the 2013 MARTY Award nominees and again on Page 15, which is the press release about his involvement in the upcoming June 27th Media Arts Mash Up.
As part of our global commitment to advancing democratic values and improved governance, we have an interest in promoting political reforms that allow Somalis to be represented by leaders who will govern for the benefit of the people and the development of the country. The cover page for MISSISSAUGA ARTS is below, pick up your copy at the Mississauga Arts Council office.April 17, 2013 - THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU movie review!A positive, spoiler-free review of THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU from Horror Movie Diary has made it online and it rocks. The reviewer praises actor Robert Nolan's performances as Devil, as well as goes on to say that the film itself is "hellishly great" and supported by a great cast. The combination of instability and poor governance threatens not only the Somali people, but the security of our regional partners in the Horn of Africa and beyond.
These factors have led to the most serious piracy problem in the world on key international trade routes. The ever busy producer will be on hand discussing his past films as well as current productions including the soon-to-be-released ORIGIN: A CALL TO MINDS and the currently in development COLD DARK MIRROR.
They have also created a dangerous terrorist organization al Shabaab that wantonly attacks innocent civilians and African peacekeepers, has conducted terrorist attacks against Somalias neighbors, and has actively recruited American citizens.A For all these reasons humanitarian, democracy and governance, and cold-eyed security concerns America is committed to helping Somalia regain stability and security.
Additionally, the filmmaker will be screening a never-before-seen 10 minute clip from ORIGIN as well as discuss the making of the film. While Somalia faces enormous challenges, it also has, to quote President Obama, enormous support from the people of the United States.A A Vision for Success in Somalia We are committed to working with Somalis and the international community to help develop indigenous, long term solutions to the countrys ongoing problems.
America, as President Obama also said, wants Somalia to succeed.A Success means that Somalis facing drought and famine are helped to survive the current crisis and are given the long-term tools to better withstand future droughts. The event will be held at the Art Gallery of Mississauga (300 City Centre Drive) and will begin at 7:00pm.
Success means that Somalia is free from totalitarian terrorist groups like al Shabaab, which is responsible for many lost and shattered lives not only in Somalia, but in Kenya and Uganda, through its terror attacks and through its policy of banning humanitarian assistance.
Success means that Somalis can turn to their government for the basic services that we take for granted in America.
It means that humanitarian and development assistance goes where it is needed and not into the pockets of corrupt officials or the armories of warlords and terrorists.
Just today, Mike Haberfelner over at the website Search My Trash recently conducted two interviews, one with CDM producer Morgan Muscat and the other with David Krupicz himself about the making of the film. And success means that the Somali people get to decide what form of government and constitution they will have. Click below to check out the interviews where both filmmakers talk about CDM, as well as other upcoming projects from Moonlit Road Entertainment and Original Sine Productions.
Poll after poll shows that the Somali people want self-determination, even if they are unclear exactly how that democracy should look. Additionally, an article conducted by Mississauga journalist Louise Peacock for the Film Annex website made it online today. Our role is to support the Somali people as they arrive at these decisions.A The Current Humanitarian CrisisLet me turn first to the current humanitarian crisis, which has been so much in the headlines in recent months. That article, entitled "Glimpse in the Mirror", features an on-set journal and behind-the-scenes photos of the cast and crew in action. Nutritional data released by the Food and Agriculture Organization in early September spoke of 4 million people in need of assistance in Somalia alone, with more than three times that number at risk elsewhere in the region.A To address the immediate crisis, the United States has provided over $750 million to meet ongoing and urgent humanitarian needs in the region. Click on the respective links below to check out the interviews.A Morgan Muscat "Cold Dark Mirror" Interview (Search My Trash - Mike Haberfelner) David T.
Our dollars and diplomatic leverage are also being used to provide protection and assistance for Somali refugees in Kenya, Ethiopia, and Djibouti.A While America is the largest donor of humanitarian assistance to the Horn of Africa But, we are not alone.
Today we are proud to report that Morgan has once again been nominated, this time for a 2013 Burlington's Best award nomination, which honours citizen in Burlington who have contributed to the arts within the city.
European partners, Turkey, Gulf Cooperation Council countries, China, Japan, and many others have all responded to Somalias urgent need. Morgan is proud to call Burlington is new home town and is honoured that he and his work has been recognized by the community collectively.
Together, we have met nearly 80 percent of the $1 billion UN Consolidated Appeal for Humanitarian Assistance for Somalia, the highest percentage reached of any appeal in the world today.
In addition to aid from governments, there have been significant contributions from private citizens and NGOs from around the world.
Today we are proud to announce the cast for our upcoming sci-fi animated epic COLD DARK MIRROR, which is being produced by Morgan Muscat and will once again be directed by David T. In many respects, our core humanitarian challenge is not only to continue to mobilize the necessary resources, but also to ensure that all donors and implementing agencies are coordinating their response for maximum efficiency and effect.The areas worst affected by the famine are not coincidentally those where the extremist group al-Shabaab is most influential. Though assistance is beginning to reach these areas, coverage is uneven and continues to be impeded by al-Shabab in many places. The cast includes Sandra da Costa (Sick), Caleigh Le Grand (Inspiration), Daniel Wyse (Origin: A Call to Minds), Morgan Muscat (Archon Defender), Paul Nicholls (A Cry in the Dark), Ryan Barrett (Neverlost), Astrida Auza (Sick), Christopher Lee Grant (Dead Genesis), Neil Green (Black Eve) and Laura Collu (Severance).
We call on al-Shabaab to remove urgently all remaining obstacles to aid delivery in areas where they are present. COLD DARK MIRROR follows young Witch-Hunter Lydia (Sandra DaCosta), who stumbles upon the dark secret of the Unseen World; a shadow world of dreams and nightmares which lies just beyond the mirror's edge.
Although humanitarian access is far better in areas of Transitional Federal Government presence, we believe this could be further improved through efforts to establish more effective TFG aid-coordination systems and address the problem of small armed bands that control entry to some Internally Displaced Persons (IDP) sites. A dark and ancient power, the Time Shadow (Neil Green), seeks entry into the corporeal world, a power some on the Alchemic Council are in league with, and whose existence they seek to keep secret above all else.
The TFG should make areas it controls a model of effective aid delivery.A There is also something that you can do.
Together with her Cat Familiar Callista (Caleigh La Grand), Lydia must face the Shadow Council, and avenge the death of her mentor, the Maegis Acheroni»?.A A In addition to the casting announcement, we are also today releasing the first couple of production stills from COLD DARK MIRROR. You may be surprised to know that more than 54% of Americans have no idea there is even a crisis in the Horn of Africa region. New Moonlit Road business cards!A Earlier this year we reported that ARCHON DEFENDER would be getting a DVD and VOD release later this year. In addition to the Facebook group released a few months ago, you can now follow ARCHON DEFENDER on Twitter for all the most up-to-date information surrounding the film.
Simply click on the links above to visit the respective pages.A In other news, we are proud to report that for the first time in five years we have new business cards that are hot off the presses and about ready for distribution to the masses. Our multiple award-winning short film is now an Official Selection at the 3rd Macabre Faire Film Festival in Long Island, New York, honouring films within the genres of Horror, Thrillers, Suspense and Sci-Fi. While there are no concrete showtimes or dates as of yet, please feel free to visit the festival's Facebook page, which will make a more formal announcement closer to the festival date this summer.


As we keep you in anticipation with our casting, we are proud to present the first official production still from the film. Today we are asking that 13.3 million people, the same number of people impacted by the crisis, take action to raise awareness for the Horn of Africa. We now have a Facebook group were you will be able to keep up to date on the developments of our films as they move through production. Dual Track Policy after One YearBeyond the immediate crisis, our primary vehicle for advancing broader U.S.
Please note that press releases and latest news will appear on here first, and then make their way onto our new Facebook group. Under Dual Track, our diplomatic engagement and development assistance for Somalia is steadily increasing.
Keep it here, there's lots happening.A March 6, 2013 - Morgan Muscat 2013 MARTY Award nomination and interviews Having stepped back to focus on his family last year, Moonlit Road Entertainment founder Morgan Muscat is gearing up for what is looking like a very busy year ahead. The talented writer-producer is releasing the animated feature ORIGIN: A CALL TO MINDS as well as producing a new animated film (COLD DARK MIRROR), which starts production this month. These funds support a vast array of programs, across the entire country, that address security, peace and reconciliation, conflict mitigation, good governance, justice, democracy, education, economic growth, private sector competitiveness, health, water sanitation, food security, nutrition, and protection for vulnerable peoples.A Track one of the Dual Track policy reaffirms Americas continuing support for making the Transitional Federal Institutions more effective, more inclusive, and better able to provide services to the Somali people.
Amidst all that, Morgan is seeking funding for his long awaited Stephen King adaptation SUFFER THE LITTLE CHILDREN as well as developing some other short film projects. Track One is consistent with our support for the Transitional Charter and Djibouti Peace Process.
In the meantime, we would like to congratulate Morgan and his fourth MARTY award nomination since 2009, this one for Established Media Arts for the 2013 awards ceremony. Track one also reaffirms our continued support for the African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM) peacekeepers who defend those institutions.A The Second Track of Dual Track broadens our engagement with regional and local administrations, civil society groups, and communities across the country that share the same goal of defeating al-Shabaab and bringing peace and stability back to Somalia. More information about the MARTYs can be found by visiting the Mississauga Arts Council link. In reality, the Second Track announced last year codified efforts that were already underway to expand outreach to communities and organizations that were creating pockets of stability and improved governance. We would also like to congratulate SEVERANCE crew members David O'Hearn and Alvin Campana for their MARTY nominations also; David is nominated for Established Performing Arts while Alvin is in the running for Established Media Arts. Key administrations and organizations we engage under Dual Track include Somaliland, Puntland, Galmuduug, Ahlu Sunna wal Jamaa, other local administrations, and civil society groups.A The past year has seen important progress on both tracks of Dual Track. On Track One, the Transitional Federal Government and AMISOM have succeeded in retaking ninety-eight percent of Mogadishu from al-Shabaab. In the interview, he speaks about his early career as a filmmaker to some of his recent producing projects, specifically SEVERANCE and THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU. This is a significant accomplishment in the security arena and one that has led to increased humanitarian access in newly liberated parts of the city.
Mogadishu has been the scene of the fiercest battles in the country as al Shabaab struggled to keep its grip on the city that remains the economic heart of the country and has historically been its political epicenter as well.
While al Shabaab has lost territory and support over the past year, it remains a very dangerous organization within Somalia and our support to the Somali forces and the Ugandan and Burundian troops deployed alongside them in Mogadishu will continue.
The episode aired on Rogers TV at the end of February.A February 25, 2013 - THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU gets another Hamilton screening!!!We are proud to report that THE DEVIL WALKS AMONG YOU will once again be gracing screens in Hamilton, as it is an Official Selection at the 2013 Little Nightmares Canadian Horror Shorts Festival. The United States supports the Somali National forces with stipends, training, and equipment, and has also provided the lion's share of equipment and training for the AMISOM troop-contributing countries ever since their first deployment in 2007.A On the second track, we have increased outreach and support to key regional administrations and local governments across the country that are providing stability and services and countering al-Shabaab. Somaliland, for example, emerged from a successful presidential transition last year, a process the United States supported with over $700,000 in assistance. Having clearly progressed on democratization, the Somaliland administration has also successfully attracted new investment. That is why the United States more than doubled its assistance to Somaliland under Dual Track, going from about $8 million in 2009 to more than $20 million in 2010. This funds programs focused on local government administration and planning, education, community development initiatives, and economic growth.A We plan to extend the same type of Track Two community development assistance programs to Puntland, Galmuduug, and accessible areas of Gedo Region in the coming months. Even in Mogadishu, our quick impact community-focused projects are channeled through the Benadir Administration in order to reinforce local ownership and keep the projects close to the people.A We know Dual Track also has its critics. COLD DARK MIRROR is slated to go into production in the next few weeks and is tentatively set for release in late 2014. Some claim the policy has undercut the influence of the Transitional Federal Government, but this ignores our continued support to both the TFG and AMISOM.
There are those who claim Dual Track further Balkanizes Somalia, pointing to opportunists who quickly self-declared newly independent states states that often represent little more than a hastily-posted website in a foreign capital.A The Second Track is in no way an open-ended commitment to assist any regional entity. We are focused on looking for opportunities to help political structures that enjoy real legitimacy with their constituents and have a record of building pockets of stability within Somalia and responding to the people. A dark and ancient power, the Time Shadow, seeks entry into the corporeal world, a power some on the Alchemic Council are in league with, and whose existence they seek to keep secret above all else. We want to help Somalis living in such communities, even while Somalis as a whole decide what sort of relationship they want between their central and regional governments.
Together with her Cat Familiar Callista, Lydia must face the Shadow Council, and avenge the death of her mentor, the Maegis Acheron.i»?January 27, 2013 - ARCHON DEFENDER signed to US Distribution dealBig news to start the new year off. When it comes to recognizing new African states, America follows the African Union lead -- and the African Union supports a single Somali state.A On both tracks, we will continue to provide training to local authorities and targeted Transitional Federal Institutions to promote credibility and confidence in the peace process. ARCHON DEFENDER, our 2009 multiple award-winning animated feature film (written and directed by David T.
This includes funding activities to support constitutional and democratization processes across the country.
Krupicz and produced by Morgan Muscat) has been signed to a US distribution deal with Ytinifni Pictures. It also includes training, often with the expertise of Somali diaspora like yourselves, to promote government transparency and responsiveness. The deal will provide North American DVD and US Video on Demand (VOD) distribution in late 2013. A great recent example includes a member of the diaspora who returned to work with the TFG. While an official date has yet to be announced, expect the film to be released sometime in the fourth quarter. He identified $1 million dollars in lost assets, funds which belonged to the defunct Somali national airlines that were sitting unused in banks, and restored these assets the national budget.A Road Map Let me turn now to the national political process.
The film follows the path of a young woman, Colette, as she seeks her way through adversity to redemption, as the world she once knew is torn apart by war and tyranny. If Somali political leaders want to garner credibility with the Somali, they must capitalize on the improving security environment to make significant progress in both the political and governance realm.A Many Somalis still express a deep skepticism about the Transitional Federal Institutions ability or willingness to govern in a representative, responsive and accountable manner. Much of their frustration comes from the perception that the Transition Federal process begun in 2004, which was supposed to provide the constitutional, electoral and parliamentary foundation for a new Somalia, has become hopelessly stalled.
In the eyes of many of their constituents, the political leadership in Mogadishu has become complacent with the status quo, and the benefits it affords those in power, rather than committed to progress that will help the average Somali.A On September 6, however, these Somali leaders created a unique opportunity to change that perception. On that day, Somali leaders from the Transitional Federal Government, the regional administrations of Puntland and Galmuduug, and the Ahlu Sunna Wal Jamaa movement signed the Roadmap for Ending the Transition in Somalia. The terrible suffering of the Somali people, particularly during the current famine, underscores that the signatories must make rapid progress toward representative and effective governance that can meet the basic needs of all Somalis. We will continue to support the efforts of those who strive to achieve its goals and bring stability back to Somalia. Equally, we will work with our regional and international partners to hold accountable those Somali officials who obstruct progress.A Final ThoughtsFor all the challenges Somalia continues to face, we have seen positive though still fragile results from the efforts that we and our Somali, African, and international partners have expended. This years humanitarian response has been massive, and now needs follow-through and improved coordination to ensure the necessary effect.
In the security arena, momentum has shifted from al-Shabaab to the TFG and AMISOM -- although al-Shabaab still remains dangerously capable of asymmetric attacks.
Politically, the Roadmap offers a positive vision for the end of the transition and also the prospect of convergence between the national government and regional entities, but it needs strong direction by Somali political leaders and active regional and international engagement to keep it on track. He wants the United States to provide more humanitarian support to help stabilize the country. We need an American action immediately, said Issa, who is a village council member in Urbancrest. The first official trailer from our latest short film, MASSACRE AT FEMUR CREEK, has been unveiled online via writer-director Kyle Hytonen's You Tube channel.
That includes $175 million to Somalia.A Swan said the transition period for the government must end if the many needs of the Somali people are to be properly addressed. Enjoy the picture below of actor John Migloire in character as The Shape and keep checking back for more updates on the film's completion and release date.
Yesterday, I led a community roundtable in each city, home to the two largest Somali diaspora communities in the United States. The UN has declared famine in two regions of southern Somalia where humanitarian access has been limited by Al Shabaab.
USG is urgently supporting partnersto provide food, health, water and sanitation assistance wherever they can access communities desperate for help.I was also able to listen and learn from this dynamic community. Somali Americans are a vital lifeline of supportfor their communities and families throughout Somalia. I heard from dozens of community leaders who have mobilized their friends and neighbors to raise money for the drought through car washes, bake sales and fund drives. A young woman in Minneapolis, choking back tears, described her Facebook page where she is raising money for drought relief and posting stories of families struggling to survive. We were approached a few weeks back to create this video by local artists and have done so using footage from last year's event. As I heard from Jibril Mohamed in Columbus, In 1992 I was a boy who fled the conflict and drought of southern Somalia and did the same long walk to the border that families are doing now. The Somali American community is a critical partner in identifying ways to help save lives. We need urgently to ensure life-saving assistance reaches people now and are committed to doing so.



Makeup site with free delivery
Online dating apps for ipod




Comments to «Make your own website free reviews complaints»

  1. Alisina writes:
    Than, you plug away, trying to make factors.
  2. Real_Sevgi writes:
    She is now, and where she is going feel.
  3. Emo_my_life writes:
    Circumstances, these we are truly seeking for will be in a position to see proper.


2015 Make video presentation adobe premiere pro | Powered by WordPress