Before uploading to MapTube, maps need to be created from shapefiles using the Google Map Creator tool and placed on the web. The benefit of uploading a map to MapTube is in searching and comparing related data using the search facility. Use the Google Map Creator tool to create the map from a shapefile, making sure to save the settings. With the tile directory and settings file on the local disk, copy both to a web server where they will be accessible to the public.
The tile directory called 'tubemap-tiles' which contains all the pre-rendered Google Map Tiles.
The next required field is the description field, which needs to contain a short description of the map used with the icon to identify the map when searching and browsing. The positions of the 'Map Title' and 'Description' fields on the MapTube homepage and on the search page.
The final field is the information field, which is used for more detailed information about how the map was made and what it shows. Additional InformationMaptube only takes a link to the map on your web server, so it is important that the map remains in the same place and is accessible.


Maptube takes a link to this location and creates a new map reference from the information found there. For example, 'London' could be entered as a keyword and maps of population density and transport links selected for viewing. Setting up an account requires a valid email address because an activation code is sent by email.
This contains the geographic extents of the map, the maximum zoom level and the colour scale information. This has been omitted from the directory listing above for the sake of clarity and is unnecessary when importing maps into MapTube. If the map did not appear successfully then it is likely that the URL to the XML settings file is wrong.
This is intended to be a one page description and is accessible by clicking on the 'more information' link under the map description (see figure above). Only the information describing the map is stored on the Maptube web server, so the user is responsible for making sure that the directory on the web server remains visible. These two layers are then automatically displayed on a Google Map, allowing them to be compared visually using the fade in and out function.


The account cannot be used until the link in the email is visited and the activation code verified. This file is read when the map is first created in MapTube, but can be deleted once the map is working in MapTube.
This allows you to edit the title, keywords, description and information, or to delete the reference to the map completely.After a map has been successfully created, only the '-tiles' directory need remain on the server. Enter some keywords into the box that will allow you to search for this map in the future e.g.
Also check that the directory containing the map tiles is in the same location as the settings file.



Time management skills for online students 6th
Project management online course bundle
Learning online unisa


Comments

  1. 28.07.2015 at 12:56:32


    Assess a division, a career coach?may students will.

    Author: RICKY
  2. 28.07.2015 at 12:58:52


    Byrne is a life transformation ebook and the ebook concrete program in location to move my brand.

    Author: POLAT