The hosting of an event in Oxford each year was one of the conditions of the incredibly generous legacy gift of around £300,000 left to the WEA by Catherine and Fred Adler. A highly enjoyable part of this year’s event came when creative writing tutor Kate Joyce and two of her students Rita and Owen delivered their original, intertwining story of three individuals on the same day in Oxford City Centre each affected by issues of democracy. Emma Carney briefly touched on last year’s Save Adult Education campaign where 11,000 signatures and 500 letters to MPs resulted in a visit to 10 Downing Street and a positive outcome in the face of government cuts.
With this year’s event providing further testimony to lives changed and opportunities provided, Fred and Catherine would be proud to know that the WEA are working hard to do justice to their wonderful gift.
A local community arts group for adults with learning difficulties has been given the seal of approval from an esteemed panel at the Victoria & Albert Museum. As part of the celebrations, there will be awards ceremonies taking place later in the year, showcasing achievements of outstanding individuals, tutors, employers and projects in England. The materials consist of Power Point slides with activities, information, handouts and links to resources online.
For the first time in more than 50 years, the government has published a white paper on culture. According to the charity’s 2015 impact research, 81 per cent of all students at the WEA are involved in more cultural activities, which include reading, following their participation in a WEA class - regardless of the subject. British politician and academic Lord David Blunkett delivered the keynote speech at the evening reception. Events such as these serve to reiterate the value of adult education – it is something which we must strive to protect given its life-enhancing and life-changing effect. Gender parity is the theme for this year and individuals and groups are being urged to take action in order to accelerate equality for all. As Christine Lagarde, chief executive of the IMF, said in the 2014 Dimbleby Lecture, women “face discrimination at birth, on the school bench, in the boardroom. Carolyn Fairbairn, director general of the CBI, reminds us that far too few women run FTSE 100 companies and the pipeline of talent gets blocked by men who, more obviously, fit in.
A survey carried out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development in 2013 ranked England and Northern Ireland 14th for adult literacy and 16th for adult numeracy. According to the charity Go ON UK, nearly a quarter of the adult population lack basic digital skills, a phenomenon that affects women more than men, given time taken out because of childbirth. Which is why the WEA helps thousands of working people and those in the poorest communities to return to education, whatever their age or income. Leading an organisation was something that I thought was beyond my grasp when growing up in a small Welsh mining town in the 1960s. My accent wasn’t right and the first time I was invited out for dinner I turned up at midday. Working in such a male dominated industry in the 1970s was no picnic and, despite coal being in my blood, career opportunities were non-existent for women. The majority of our students are women and many of them use courses as a means to reskill or retrain. The importance of this was recently confirmed by the Centre for the Modern Family, a think-tank established by Scottish Widows.
Globalisation has the potential to open up opportunities and to encourage wider participation – and global organisations need seriously to address widening and deepening the talent pool if they want to continue to be successful.
Governments need to take tough action where human values of respect and dignity are compromised and we need to tackle head-on the biggest temptation of them all: to set our sights too low and quit the field when the battle is not yet won. Almost one in four UK workers are willing to take a pay cut in exchange for more flexible working hours as pressure builds on employers struggling to live up to employees’ expectations. Whilst the study of 2,000 adults and 500 businesses found that almost a third (32%) of employees with children felt their employer provided equal support for all, only 20% without children agreed, and a similar proportion (21%) of those without children claimed that parents received better support. The findings showed employers’ responses reflected this perception, with more than half (51%) offering flexibility for mothers with young children. Whilst businesses appear to be taking steps towards meeting the needs of parents in the workplace, varying barriers still exist when it comes to extending those policies to support employees more widely. The study found that medium-sized businesses struggle the most – with almost a quarter (23%) saying they do what is legally required of them in terms of flexibility for families, but not any more than this for other employees.
Almost three quarters of medium-sized businesses (72%) would never consider offering full-time working from home, compared to half (51%) of micro and two-fifths (40%) of enterprise businesses. Half of medium businesses also said they would not consider offering part-time working from home, compared with 16% of enterprise and 22% of large businesses for the same reasons.
Almost a fifth of businesses (17%) have called for clearer information around the business benefits of flexible working – rising to a quarter (24%) in large businesses. However, employees feel it is the employer’s responsibility to offer solutions, and many are keen to see changes in the workplace. Join us for the WEA biennial conference, which will be held on 11th and 12th March 2016 in Sheffield. If your costs are being met by a WEA Region or Association Services, you can register online here. Ed Mayo is Secretary General of Co-operatives UK, the national business association for co-operative and mutual enterprises.
Debate the future of Conference and the sutainability of the WEA - the latest agenda is available here.
Current WEA Deputy President, Lynne Smith, is set to become President of the Association following an all member vote. Ruth Spellman, Chief Executive and General Secretary commented: "I am sure that members, staff, volunteers and supporters of the WEA will join with me in congratulating Lynne Smith on her election as President of the WEA.
Wessex Archaeology and the Workers’ Educational Association have forged a new partnership to promote and deliver educational outreach with heritage at its heart. Wessex Archaeology Chief Executive Chris Brayne and Ruth Spellman, Chief Executive of the WEA, will be signing a memorandum of understanding at the Omega Centre in Portsmouth today. Lord Mayor of Portsmouth, Councillor Frank Jonas is attending to speak about the Mary Rose and WEA students will be there to help show that heritage themes can support the teaching of Stem (science, technology, engineering and maths) subjects and literacy.
Yesterday, Liberal Democrat peer Baroness Sharp led a debate in the House of Lords on the role of adult education and lifelong learning in strengthening the UK economy. Speaking at the debate, Lord Watson of Invergowrie, noted the results of the WEA’s latest impact report which assessed the effect of our provision against our four curriculum themes. Lord Hennessy of Nympsfield, Lord Hunt of Chesterton, Lord Shipley and Baroness Garden of Frognal all referenced the charity and its role in ensuring that everyone has a chance to return to education. The WEA is pleased to see this issue raised in parliament, and through the work of the APPG, will continue to champion the importance of lifelong learning to individuals, communities and wider society.
The UK Commission for Employment and Skills (UKCES) has published its 2015 Employer Skills Survey which reports that, despite a surge in job openings, the number of positions left vacant because employers cannot find people with the skills or knowledge to fill them has risen by 130% since 2011. In our experience, ESOL students are hardworking and diligent, committed to contributing to their communities and wider society. Election for the post of PresidentSince two nominations have been received for the post of President, a ballot among WEA members will now decide which candidate will be elected to the post.
If you were a registered member by 12 September 2015, you will be able to vote in the election. Elections of WEA Association Officers are supervised by the Standing Orders Committee appointed at the previous Association Conference.
In order to be able to vote, members are required to have joined the WEA in England and Scotland on or before 12 September 2015. WEA London Region is looking for experienced, knowledgeable, flexible and creative adult educators for inclusion on our Tutor Panel. You should ideally have experience of working with educationally or socio-economically disadvantaged adults across a range of community settings. The report demonstrates that adult learning has an enormous impact on individuals and communities. The Autumn edition of WEA News is now available, including stories on our Save Adult Education campaign, Conference 16, the new All Party Parliamentary Group for Adult Education and much more. Molly Morgan was a WEA volunteer who was tragically murdered on her way to a WEA course in 2009. As the WEA leads the campaign to save adult education across England, colleagues in WEA Scotland give their support and solidarity, whilst reflecting on some key differences in Scotland. An award winning adult education student and a fashion tutor from Tower Hamlets joined shadow minister and Newcastle MP, Chi Onwurah, to deliver a petition of over 10,000 names to 10 Downing Street as part of a campaign to save adult education.
Adult education, which is funded by the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, represents only six per cent of the department’s spending devoted to education and training. With the government expecting that 13.5 million jobs will be created over the next 10 years but only 7 million young people coming into the workforce, there is a concern the loss of adult education services will mean that older workers will not be able to update their skills while employers will face a shortage of workers.
On Thursday, 29 October 2015, the Higher Education Policy Institute (HEPI) published It’s the finance, stupid!
This collection of essays explains the catastrophic fall in part-time student numbers, which is harming the economy and limiting people’s ability to transform their lives, and proposes a range of options for tackling the problem. A study, published in the Royal Society’s Open Science journal, looked at how a series of adult education classes grew closer over seven months. Dr Eiluned Pearce, from Oxford’s Department of Experimental Psychology led the research.
To test the theory, the researchers worked with charity the Workers' Educational Association (WEA), the UK’s largest voluntary sector provider of adult education. Those attending the classes were given surveys before and after individual sessions in the first month, just before the break and at the end of the seven month course. We are sad to announce the recent death of Peter Quigley, who played an active role in the WEA for many years.
I learned Peter Quigley had passed away on the evening of Tuesday 13th October in hospital following an operation, whilst I was attending a WEA Regional Heads Meeting in London.
Peter had also represented WEA Scotland nationally on the WEA Council and more recently on the Standing Orders Committee. On the wider stage of life, Peter was a former English teacher, and Union Representative and this often meant that he was called on to represent members in disciplinary procedures. Knowing of my literary aspirations, Peter had chatted to me a couple of times about writing a book himself, though, ever cautious, he never revealed the plot. A forthright individual, Peter always challenged what he did not agree, but with a good heart and there are few who would not say that he sought to improve the WEA and its place in the world. WEA Scotland would wish to extend to Peter’s family and friends our sincere condolences. Please consider for a few moments Peter Quigley’s contribution to our lives and the life and success of the WEA. Labour MP Holly Lynch has voiced support for the WEA's Save Adult Education campaign after meeting with our students and tutors last week.
The Halifax MP, part of the 2015 intake, was invited to a screening of a campaign video produced by learners which captures the many reasons why adult education should be protected and supported. Commenting on the campaign, Holly said: "Adult education is essential in ensuring that people have the skills and the confidence to make the most of the opportunities available to them, either in employment or in life.
New WEA tutor Tracey Kettridge is interviewed in this month’s Prima magazine in a feature on inspirational women. In September, Tracey fulfilled another of her ambitions – to become a tutor with the WEA.
Organisations from the education, business and employment sectors have joined forces to shine a spotlight on the hundreds of thousands of students studying part-time around the UK.
The two largest providers of part-time higher education: The Open University and Birkbeck, University of London. Unionlearn – the learning and skills organisation of the TUC who last year who have helped over 220,000 people access training and development. Workers' Educational Association (WEA) – the UK's largest voluntary sector provider of adult education. National Institute of Adult Continuing Education (NIACE) – the national voice for lifelong learning. National Union of Students (NUS), which represents the voices on 7 million students including part-time and mature students.
CBI, whose 190,000 members employ nearly 7 million people, about one third of the private sector-employed workforce. With more than two million students currently settling into new university courses, a fifth of these will be studying part-time whilst juggling work and family responsibilities. These part-time students are largely 'invisible' – they may not identify themselves as being a student, and are often overlooked in media and government reports in favour of reporting on the participation of younger, full-time students.
The Government is currently preparing its Spending Review for the next 5 years and will announce its plans on November 25.
Less than 6 per cent of Government spending on education and training is devoted to adult further education and skills. Putting this in context, over the next 10 years there will be 13.5 million more jobs but only 7 million young people coming into the workforce. Over the next few weeks we are hoping to reach thousands of students, members and supporters of the WEA as well as a vast range of partners and friends who share our concerns.
I am deeply concerned that the cuts suggested for the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) will have a serious impact on the sustainability of adult education across England. As a supporter of the Workers’ Educational Association (WEA), I have experienced the impact adult education can make. Please add in a personal statement of what the WEA means to you whether as a student volunteer or tutor.


The group has been formed to raise the profile of adult education, and in particular, the vital role it plays in providing high-quality educational provision to the most disadvantaged members of society. The group will be established as an All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) shortly after the launch.
The launch event will be at 11am on Friday 18 September at Westgate Community College in Newcastle. Created as part of the Further and Higher Education Act 1992, the SDIs offer a vast range of adult education courses for over 130,000 students across Britain each year, providing educational opportunities for every community in the country. Since 1985, the bottom feeders of the NBA have looked to the draft lottery to pull them from the depths of ineptitude.
Perhaps in no other sport can the #1 pick more solely and wholly redirect an entire franchise, deliver the promised land. Since 1985, David Robinson and Tim Duncan are the ONLY overall #1 selections to lead the teams that drafted them to a championship. And keep this in mind a€“ the development of youth takes place at dramatically unpredictable and unique rates of speed. I don't know Bryce Harper, have never spoken with Bryce Harper, have never met Bryce Harper.
One of the most heinous flaws of humanity is our urge to wholly judge on a portion of the story.
But it isn't all bad conclusions at which we arrive - we also places folks upon unworthy pedestals via the same flawed approach.
What's sad is that even if the people who sent these tweets saw this video, it likely would have no effect on them. There's a problem today where people say what they want from behind the anonymity of a phone or a computer keyboard. I guess the $17.5 million contract isna€™t enough motivation to come to work and actuallya€¦wait for ita€¦work!
Ita€™s remarkable to me how many players will fall back on a€?ita€™s just businessa€? until the business end responds in kind. In the movie a€?Slap Shot,a€? we laughed so hard at this scene because of the absurdity of it all. A star center for a Canadian high school basketball team was found to be pulling a fast one when he was exposed as a 30-year-old African refugee.
50 world tours, 200 press conferences, 1 million interviews, 2 million photo shoots, and at the end of it all I'm left looking down the barrel of a lens, staring defeat in the face, thinking of nothing but my incorrect fight preparation. Sitting in a car on the way to some dump in Conneticut or somewhere, to speak to Tim and Suzie on the nobody gives a fuck morning show did not get me this life. Talking to some lady that deep down doesn't give a fuck about what I'm doing, but just wants some sound bites so she can maybe get her little tight ass a nice raise, and I'm cool with that too, I've been giving you all raises. I flew an entire team to Portugal and to Iceland to make my adjustments in preparation and fix my errors I made with the weight and the cardio prep. With the right adjustments and the right focus, I will finish what I started in that last fight. I will always play the game and play it better than anybody, but just for this one, where I am coming off a loss, I asked for some leeway where I can just train and focus. There had been 10 million dollars allocated for the promotion of this event is what they told me. So as a gesture of good will, I went and not only saved that 10 million dollars in promotion money, I then went and tripled it for them.
I feel the $400 million I have generated for the company in my last three events, all inside 8 months, is enough to get me this slight leeway. I will offer, like I already did, to fly to New York for the big press conference that was scheduled, and then I will go back into training.
If this is not enough or they feel I have not deserved to sit this promotion run out this one time, well then I don't know what to say. Other celebs scheduled to be on the show include actor Matthew McConaughey, reality TV star Kim Kardashian West, actress Kristen Bell and musician Kid Rock. Rodgers will be playing on behalf of his favorite charity, Midwest Athletes Against Childhood Cancer. If you're wondering what is going on here, the gentleman in the green shirt is holding a red bag. It was a 3-point bucket at the buzzer A that lifted Villanova to victory over North Carolina. If you played sports in high school, chances are you had or have the potential to be more successful in life. 64 percent of those who participated in high school sports went on to some form of higher education, compared with 45 percent of those who were not on a team. Some of the top teams and individual players from Wisconsin are slated to participate in the 2016 Rick Majerus Wisconsin Basketball Yearbook Shootout, scheduled for December 27-28-29 at the Buuck Fieldhouse on the campus of Concordia University in Mequon. Top 2017 prospects Kobe King of La Crosse Central, Terrence Lewis and George Dixon of Milwaukee Riverside, Philip Flory of Oshkosh North, Luke Loewe and Bennett Vander Plas of Ripon, Alou Dillon of Wauwatosa West and Will Chevalier of Kimberly, among others, highlight the list of stellar individuals taking part in the event. Top 2018 prospects scheduled to participate include Tyler Herro of Whitnall, Jordan McCabe of Kaukauna, John Diener of Cedarburg, Carlos Curtis of Milwaukee Riverside, Jack Plumb of Bay Port, J.C. MILWAUKEE, WIa€” Celebrities from the sports and entertainment world convened in Milwaukee this weekend to join Green Bay Packers all-time leading wide receiver and a€?Dancing with the Starsa€? champion Donald Driver as he honored six deserving organizations at the 2016 Driven to Achieve Awards presented by BMO Harris Bank. Anthony Anderson, Executive Producer and star of ABCa€™s hit show a€?Black-ish,a€? co-hosted the sold-out event which also featured a special surprise appearance from three-time NFL Defensive Player of the Year JJ Watt and a musical performance by 16-time Grammy nominated recording artist Brian McKnight.
Created by Donald Driver to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of multiple charities, companies, community leaders and celebrities on a national and local level, Donald Driver's Driven to Achieve Awards presented by BMO Harris Bank has granted over $750,000 to various deserving charitable causes in just three years.
In addition to BMO Harris Bank, other community leaders supporting the program include MillerCoors and Jockey. The Phoenix were able to turn over the Aggies early and with Khalil Small knocking down a couple of three point shots and a Tevin Findley layup with 11:13 left in the half, Green Bay found themselves up 22-14. Small carried the night offensively with a career high 22 points, Jamar Hurdle added 11 off the bench but they were the only two Green Bay players in double figures. A&M was led by Danuel House with 20, one of five players in double figures as the taller and more athletic Aggies dominated on the glass, outrebounding Green Bay 45-25.
Green Bay finishes 23-13 on the season, unfortunately losing in the first round of the NCAA's in their fifth ever trip to the dance. After the game, reporters caught up with Darner to talk about the end of a memorable run to the dance.
Love and Fouse finished their career as the only Division 1 players to have above .500 records all four years.
Oklahoma City was a terrific host for the Green Bay entourage and while they'll hurt for a while overnight, the trip home and the memories of at least getting a shot at one shining moment should stay with them for a very long time. A spirited 45 minute shootarond at the arena followed the press conference with the guys flashing smiles and enjoying the moment. They'll need a good night's sleep for the really big moment arrives Friday night at 6:20 PM. While some people are blessed with natural presenting skills, others may require practice and coaching. We provide international Presentation Training with key hubs in the UK, London, Brussels, Italy and Spain.
The Presentation Training was very practical and one of the most useful sessions I have attended.
The Presentation coaching session was invaluable and equipped me for my first major public event. Rachel Thomson, Senior Programme Director - Campaigns, the National Institute for Continuing Adult Education (NIACE).
As devoted socialists, trade union activists and supporters of adult education, the Adlers were passionate advocates of the transformative power of education. With focus on Preparing For Work and Helping in School courses, WEA tutors Heather Dommet and Vivian Vermede introduced students Lubna and Shamena who addressed the audience with stories of how the WEA has helped them to integrate, gain confidence and find employment and volunteer opportunities. He also touched on the Emergency Powers Act prior to World War Two and the more recent terrorism acts which, in attempting to make the population secure, unavoidably restrict civil liberties. We then heard about the two inspiring mosaic projects with students of diverse age, ability and background working together to produce two pieces currently on display at The Barn in Greater Leys and Littlemore Community Centre. Of the students taking part, 22 per cent were from black or ethnic minority backgrounds and 41 per cent had a disability. In addition, the study found that 36 per cent of all students valued the arts, music or literature more than they had previously whilst 35 per cent had a greater understanding of other cultures. Tutors, students, members, volunteers and colleagues from across the country were in attendance, with vigorous discussion around sustainability (the theme of the 2016 conference) and the future of the charity. He has been instrumental in developing a wide range of renewable energy systems and is now leading on the ground-breaking Zero Carbon Britain research. Speaking from personal experience, Lord Blunkett told the audience of the challenges he faced when returning to education and of the ultimate gain. I was privileged to hear from a variety of wonderful speakers and educational practitioners and felt honoured to share the success stories of the WEA Awards recipients. Women’s lives have been transformed by technology, changes in our economy and in social attitudes so that women expect to compete on equal terms. The adult education charity has been going for more than a century and it is as badly needed today as it was in 1903. This low level of adult skills inevitably impacts on the success of the economy as a whole.
People like my grandfather, who left school at 11 but who enrolled on a WEA course and eventually won a trade union scholarship to Ruskin College, Oxford, and another to Peterhouse at Cambridge. When I read economics at Cambridge I was intimidated by the cutglass accents and the seemingly easy social confidence of my fellow students. It is a vicious cycle that affects many women, which is why we have to do more to support mothers in the workplace.
Last year, the WEA launched a campaign focusing on the importance of education and lifelong learning, to enable women to overcome the disadvantages they face in society.
Its latest report, published last week, revealed that one in four UK workers would sacrifice pay for greater flexibility. According to the World Economic Forum it is now ranked 18th out of 145 countries in terms of the gender gap, an improvement from the 26th place ranking it achieved last year. According to the report no country in the world has achieved gender equality but I think there are lessons we can learn from those at the top of the league table: Iceland, Finland, Norway and Sweden. According to the World Economic Forum, it will take another 117 years until the pay gap between men and women is closed. We also need to recognise and reward good practice wherever we see it, learn from our own experience and the experience of other countries and cultures. However, far fewer are supportive of fathers with young children (35%), older workers (26%) and other employees (34%) who may have additional responsibilities such as elderly or unwell relatives to care for, charity and volunteering responsibilities, or a desire to attend additional training or classes outside of work. Over half (52%) of medium-sized employers said this would be logistically too difficult to implement, whilst over a third (35%) worry it would impact negatively on the business. Almost a third of employers (31%) place the onus on employees – saying they would be encouraged to reconsider their decisions if employees would consider taking cuts in return for more flexible working hours. A quarter (24%) of employees think employers should offer flexible shift patterns, and almost a quarter (23%) would be willing to be paid less in return for working fewer hours if this were an option.
Our economy depends on a skilled and motivated workforce that functions productively – and our best hope of achieving this is through encouraging employers to adapt to the evolving needs of the workforce.
This year the theme of the conference is sustainability, with an event on the Friday of national significance with a great line up of speakers and workshops along with the Association Dinner. He has a track record of innovation and impact in his work to bring together economic life and social justice.
He chaired the Jubilee 2000 campaign and was part of the team that founded the Fairtrade Mark.
Standing Orders Committee has therefore confirmed that Lindsay Pearson is duly elected to the post of Deputy President.
It encourages intellectual curiosity and lifelong opportunities to learn which we are passionate about in the WEA. Since 2010, we have witnessed a drastic reduction in the ESOL budget of almost 50 per cent. By creating a more cohesive ESOL strategy, the Government could help thousands of people across the country unlock their potential and contribute to the economy.
Standing Orders Committee therefore confirms that Lindsay Pearson is duly elected to the post of Deputy President.
Before voting you should read the supporting statements from the cadidates and the role description for the post of President below. You will have either recieved an email from Electoral Reform Services or a ballot paper by post providing security details for the election.
Further information about the regulations of governance of the WEA can be found in our Governing Document. Applicants should hold a First Degree or equivalent in their subject(s) or have significant, demonstrable professional knowledge and skills. Our work transforms outcomes for people in deprived communities; it reduces social exclusion, increases social mobility and enables families to break the cycle of deprivation. Without continuous opportunities to learn throughout our lives, the economic potential of many citizens will be lost and our productivity levels will continue to lag behind other competing countries.


While this is welcome, we believe there needs to be more investment in adult learning alongside a rebalancing of our education and skills policies to reflect the fact that productivity improvements will be driven by those who are already in the labour market.
From now on, everyone is going to be thinking about how to continuously increase skills through life. During her life, she gave so much of her time to the charity and had volunteered with us for over 25 years before her death at the age of 81. The formation of a Scottish Parliament Cross Party Working Group on Adult Learning has backed this up - testament to the shared belief that adult learning benefits people and communities throughout Scotland. An effective vehicle for economic and social justice, a strong adult learning sector is key to the future of Scotland. Chief Executive of the WEA, Ruth Spellman and WEA Director of Education Joanna Cain, joined the group to highlight the importance of adult education to communities throughout England.
This year alone, the Adult Skills Budget has already had cuts of 24 per cent and 3.9 per cent, and many students are concerned that further cuts will have a devastating impact on a service which provides skills, confidence and support to disadvantaged communities across the country. Adult education is important because it helps individuals and their families break cycles of deprivation and forge better lives themselves. Thousands of people have joined the WEA in saying this is a vital service for our economy and our society. There are other challenges too, such as the future of the research environment, how to assess the quality of teaching and dealing with the effects of marketisation.
Part-time numbers have fallen more in England than other parts of the UK with lower (or no) fees, but it is not the sole cause.
Now, research from the University of Oxford has shown that singing is a great ice-breaker and can get groups of people to bond together faster.
The conclusion – singing groups bonded quicker than those taking part in other classes. At the end of the seven months, all the classes were reporting similar levels of closeness. Indeed he represented my Cousin, Bill Bald and successfully defended him in a case of wrongful dismissal.
It is for this and the many other unrealised potentials that we always regret the passing of a life, the achievements stand as testament, the intentions and possibilities as feasible conjecture. Tracey is a former beautician who, five years ago, decided to change career and study counselling and hypnotherapy after years of being a shoulder to cry on for family, friends and clients.
She will be empowering those with low self-esteem to recognise their worth and talents by teaching a confidence course with us.
The sector is calling for greater recognition of the value of part-time education and is asking students, past and present, to share why they love part time study.
The Department for Business Innovation and Skills, which funds the WEA and other adult learning institutions like ourselves in England, has been asked by the Chancellor to suggest cuts of 25% and 40%. Further cuts, on top of the 24 per cent and 3.9 per cent cuts to the Adult Skills Budget already announced this year, will have a devastating impact on a service that is life-changing for many people. At the same time employer investment in skills and training has declined by 2.5bn since 2011. Our aim is to raise awareness, make the case for adult education and to give adult learners a voice.
Individual letters or emails to your local MP and the Chancellor will make a difference and make sure that adults are not forgotten when cuts are being made.
Please click here to download a template of what you might consider writing - the suggested text is also below. Further cuts, on top of the 24 per cent and 3.9 per cent cuts to the Adult Skills Budget already announced this year, will have a devastating impact on a service that is life-changing for many people and communities across the country.
The group will aim to start a wider debate about the future of adult education in this country. Learning can change people’s lives and improve not just their skills and job prospects but also their confidence and health. APPGs have members from all the main political parties in Parliament and the Adult Education APPG will be supported by the WEA and other specialist adult education institutions. Our aim is to engage key stakeholders, organisations within the FE sector, parliamentarians and other major influencers in a debate about the future of adult education. Dude Perfect is known for these amazing basketball trick shots; and having celebs come in and perform them as well. It's a brilliant method of sustainability adopted by the NBA - the worse you are, the more likely you are to score the #1 overall pick. At least that's the conventional wisdom and the source of every fan's excitement over tonight's draft lottery reveal extravaganza. Ia€™m all about calling out organizations for reaches to the extreme, and many are doing precisely that in this case, but before everybody jumps on Pop Warner for contributing to the a€?wussificationa€? of our youth, remember that their primary obligation is to the kids. This is undoubtedly a reaction to Philly trading for the #2 overall selection in this weeka€™s draft. Ita€™s unfortunate, because that complacency is precisely what kills the career of so many a promising star (and to be honest, I dona€™t even know if thata€™s what I would call Bradford). But I sure would have had a lot of respect for him had he responded differently to the Eaglesa€™ move.
Jonathan Nicola was a star center for the Central Catholic Comets throughout the 2015-16 season.
Since beginning his affiliation with the MACC Fund in 2010, Rodgers has helped raise more than $2.5 million to support its mission of funding research for and fighting childhood cancer and blood disorders. Youth who participate in school sports not only are more likely to go to college, but also earn more money as working adults, whether they played on the football team or faced opponents one-on-one on the tennis court, according to a Harris Poll.
In addition, youth athletes are more likely to have capped off their education with a four-year college degree (20 percent vs. Fifteen percent of adults who participated in athletics have a personal income greater than $100,000, compared with just 9 percent of those who did not participate.
In addition to appearing on a special celebrity panel featuring Driver, Anderson and McKnight, Watt also received a Driven to Achieve Award for his charitable efforts through the Justin J.
This year, the Donald Driver Foundation donated over $250,000 to the incredible organizations to which the Driven to Achieve winners have shared their time, talent and resources to help them further their missions and improve our community. Head Coach Linc Darner's RP-40 style delivered a Horizon League Tournament championship and 23 wins in his first season and when it came to the big stage, it was reduced to RP-10 by the 15 ranked SEC Regular Season champs. A  The bigger Texas A&M club proceeded to get Green Bay in foul trouble forcing Darner to use uncommon player rotations and by intermission, the third seeded Aggies turned the eight point deficit to an eight point lead at 41-33. A The outgoing seniors, Carrington Love and Jordan Fouse both struggled mightily, as did second leading scorer Charles Cooper. A They both scored over 1000 points, Love set the single season steals record this year and Fouse leaves Green Bay as the school's all time leading rebounder with over 1000, all time steals leader (also the Horizon League record holder) and the player who started every game in his career, a record 136. A Instead of sugarplum visions dancing in their heads, it's three point swishes, steals and dunks as they hit the pillow on the eve of their first NCAA Tournament game since 1996.
A After breakfast, they hit a local high school gym for a practice session that was more X's and O's oriented.
A Seniors Carrington Love and Jordan Fouse represented the team at the NCAA news conference.
Or perhaps you want to address a regulator, IPO investors or present phase three clinical and pharmaceutical trials results. Our Presentation Training can be adapted to enhance the performance of a CEO wanting to improve their ‘town hall’ style to a Junior Executive. Great guidance given in a safe environment which will make me change my approach to presentations, to preparation and delivery, in the future.
The feedback I’ve received from my colleagues is positive as to how I came across – so clearly Evelyn’s messages entered my brain … and stuck! The day concluded with two students, Ali from Afghanistan and Aziz from Iraq, telling their stories of how they partook in WEA Community Interpreting Courses to help others like themselves to integrate and find success. Half of the students were on means-tested benefits and 28 per cent from disadvantaged postcodes. If he had not secured his O-level qualifications by attending evening classes, he would not have been able to attend university and subsequently forge a career in national politics.
Award-winning journalist Nadine Dereza hosted the event, which highlighted the fantastic work of the students, tutors and staff that make the WEA special. After my third was born I had to deal with redundancy and the serious illness of my husband. On Saturday, the formal business of the conference will take place with debates on some of the key issues affecting the WEA and adult education. It was entitled Changing Lives and revealed the extent to which adult learning impacts on so many areas of an individual’s life. In order to help people fully integrate into their communities and boost active citizenship, we believe more should be done to encourage and facilitate English language learning for those who need it. An effective ESOL programme has the potential to promote community cohesion, fair access to services, social mobility and can enable students to access the labour market. Applicants should also hold a Level 4 teaching qualification (minimum) or be willing to work towards this. Unless we have accessible and affordable education and skills provision economic growth will stall, our productivity levels will continue to be below the G7 average, and five million adults will continue to struggle without basic literacy and numeracy skills.
Alongside the petition, hundreds of WEA students who have benefited from adult education have been writing to their MPs to protest against potential cuts in the Spending Review. Singing is found in all human societies and can be performed to some extent by the vast majority of people.
Each course, made up of two-hour sessions, was run over seven months with a two-week break in the middle. It was a difficult feat considering that she had four children (her youngest at the time was one years old) and it meant leaving behind the security of a profession which she was thriving in.
Please help us maintain this vital service for generations to come by highlighting the importance of adult education to the Chancellor and BIS over the coming months. A They recently did a World Record edition and included was The Worlds Highest Basketball Shot from a skyscraper! But unlike other professional entities, the NBA has shielded itself from the urge to tank it down the stretch, for simply being the worst guarantees not the pick, simply a higher likelihood. In fact, let's look at it from the percentages, for that's really what the NBA Draft Lottery is all about. But it gets even more unfathomable a€“ Bradford not only has made it aware that he wants out, he is refusing to report to the teama€™s remaining offseason activities. Ita€™s fascinating to juxtapose his attitude with that of so many of the elite, for whom motivation not only never wanes, it is consistently manufactured to keep that chip on the shoulder sharp and ready for deployment. After all, it is the job of the administration to accumulate the best talent to win football games. The 6-foot-9, 202-pounder spent the previous months during the academic year living with Central Catholic basketball coach Pete Cusumano as part of the Canada Homestay program while he lived in the country on a student visa. 14 percent), compared with those who didn't participate and are also twice as likely to have some form of post-graduate education (12 percent vs. A Both Love and Cooper were held scoreless in the first half and Fouse shot 3 for 11 on the night and 0-5 from three point range, finishing with 9 points and a team high six rebounds. A Two room suites for the boys (including your's truly), catered meals, bus transporation where ever they go, real red carpet stuff. A After returning to the hotel in the early afternoon, most guys caught the opening round Tournament upsets by Yale over Baylor and Little Rock over Purdue in double overtime.
A They were followed by Darner who did a nice job explaining honestly where his team matches up with the Southeastern Conference regular season champions and 15th ranked team in the country. That survey found that more than half of those aged under 60 gave improving communication skills as a specific skill developed on a WEA course. Whilst we can’t guarantee tutors work, inclusion on our Tutor Panel ensures that you will be considered when suitable courses arise. Any solution is likely to rest upon innovative delivery methods and other ways of improving access as much as relying on tweaks to the entitlement for financial support. And though this may very well prove the first step to an all-out ban at every level of organized American football, can you really find fault with a youth organization who implements a rule designed to keep our youth out of the ER?
Can you believe the nerve?a€? Turns out that nerve is SOP (standard operating procedure) for this generation of athlete.
That visa is now likely to be terminated as a result of the large discrepancy in Nicolaa€™s age. Twenty-eight percent of those who participated in high school sports have a household income over $100,000, compared with just 15 percent of those who did not.
But no matter who gets the nod, there is a mere 6.45% chance that that fella will deliver a title to the team that drafts him. A  Linc was also candid about how Division II coaches are often overlooked by the major schools.
A Darner said there are good college coaches at every level and he's very grateful Green Bay Athletic Director Mary Ellen Gillespie gave him a shot.



Short story on miracle
Communication 4 and literature 1
Lottery winnings interview


Comments

  1. 03.01.2014 at 21:47:55


    Other laws previously, but was familiar raining, your late your boss.

    Author: Turchanka_18
  2. 03.01.2014 at 22:22:21


    Became a far better baller and boarder.

    Author: sevgi_delisi
  3. 03.01.2014 at 11:28:38


    Dynamic schedules where priorities change all the time comprehensive expertise as a coach / mentor.

    Author: BLADE
  4. 03.01.2014 at 13:41:40


    Women are just unable to see well.

    Author: Samira