Updates to the webclient for staff

Menu Layout

The navigation menu has moved from the top to left sidebar, which opens up the space for your custom status (more on that below).

menu layout changes

Custom status for colleagues more conveniently located

Provide short custom status lines shown only to your colleagues (guests won't see this). Previously, custom status was set through the Availability drop-down menu.

setting a custom status

Canned message improvements

Canned message behavior has been redesigned. Now in addition to or instead of the type-ahead menu, you can use our canned message selector to visually browse and filter all canned messages within each chat.

visual canned message browser

And, for those that prefer an approach that doesn't require use of the mouse, canned message type-ahead matching remains, with a couple of usability improvements to make it less aggressive:

type-ahead matching begins at three letters now

Type-ahead matching can be enabled or disabled in Preferences.


Emoji picker

No need to memorize the key combinations for the available emoji. There is now a handy "insert emoji" button that comes with every chat. Click the "insert emoji" button to review the available choices and then click the desired emoticon to insert it.

emoji picker available via the insert emoji button for a chat

In-place profiles

If you staff a collaborative service, you're probably very familiar with queue profiles. These function as staff "cheat sheets" and provide useful context-sensitive shortcuts for staffers.

queue profile displays as an overlay and can be detached into a separate window

Queue profiles display as a convenient overlay now, instead of always opening in a new tab. And, if you need continued access to a profile, you can detach into a separate tab at any time by clicking the icon in the profile overlay title bar.


Performance improvements for very busy services

We suggest Chrome for the best experience if you have a high-volume chat service and often chat with many guests simultaneously.


Conference rooms

If you use conference rooms, you'll notice a few changes to the layout:

  1. If you have more than one conference room available to you, the rooms be listed vertically to the left of the conference room members. Previously conference rooms were listed horizontally across the top of the conference room area.
  2. There are no longer options to join or to leave the conference room. Both actions are done automatically for you as you log into and out of the webclient.

Detachable Chat History and Profiles

Chat History and Profiles are both available for browsing at any time within the webclient. And if you need to have them available in their own, separate browser windows while you're chatting, you can detach them easily.

detachable chat history detachable profile viewing

Desktop visual alert improvements

Desktop alerts notify the user visually of new chat messages, even if the webclient itself is minimized or otherwise not at the top of the user's desktop. This is especially handy in situations where sound must be disabled on the staffing computer.

In any browser that supports desktop notifications, you will be proactively prompted for permission to display the notifications if permission is not currently granted to the webclient.

You can control the duration of these visual alerts if you're in Chrome. So you can set a lengthy duration if you're worried about missing a notification when your attention is away from the computer for a few minutes.

configurable persistence of desktop alerts available in Chrome ONLY

Auto-logout also available in Preferences now

Auto-logout is a very handy feature that prevents you from leaving your chat service falsely online if you forget to logout and then step away for a meeting or for the day.

change your auto-logout preferences at any time, not just at the time of login

As before, the opportunity to adjust your auto-logout setting continues to be offered each time you login, so that you can flexibly change your auto-logout trigger if needed based on how long you expect to staff in that particular session. But now, you can also visit and change your auto-logout setting in your Preferences.